National Hurling League Tipperary V Galway, Thurles, 1927

Sale price€19,00


When the great Michael Cusack got the ball rolling and founded the GAA with Maurice Davin in 1884, it was in this very town - Thurles, County Tipperary. This advertises a Tipperary V Galway hurling match in Thurles in November, 1927. There is lovely poem in the centre which we love: 

“Heres to the pastime our ancestors loved, 
And here’s to the sports that we follow; 
Here’s to the comrades whose spirit we’ve proved, 
And here’s to the fun of the morrow”

Each year in Ireland, county teams compete against each other in the National Hurling League. The final is held in May. Tipperary went on to win the Dr. Croke Cup in 1927. The all time record holders are Tipperary, who have won the league on 19 occasions.


You may also like

Recently viewed